Web Browsers

Just a quick note regarding web browsers (aimed mostly at new Mac users). When I used to/had to use Windows I used Internet Explorer (IE) and then progressed to Firefox. On Apple Macs IE is not available (hurrah!) so what are your choices?

My 3 main browsers of choice are:

Firefox – Available at getfirefox.com

Camino – Available at caminobrowser.org

Safari – Available at www.apple.com/safari

Depending on the website you visit you may find one of the above browsers more suited than others (for example, Camino for Wordprss blog editing).

 


AddThis Social Bookmark Button

5 Responses to Web Browsers

  1. i like firefox always !

  2. Scott says:

    Have to say I have always hated Firefox on Mac…

    I did use Camino on Tiger but since upgrading to Leopard have been using Safari.

    Shiira is interesting as is Flock, but for now I am a Safari browser man.

  3. Hi Scott, thanks for your comment. I agree, since Safari 3 has been released I use that as my main browser. I use camino for the sites that need another browser to work correctly.

  4. jeffus says:

    Another vote for Safari since the upgrade to Leopard. I have never used it until now – always switched around between Camino, OmniWeb, and Flock. The Gecko engine does not display text as well at Webkit (to my old eyes). Now that I have discovered Zotero I am interested in running Firefox once in a while, but never liked the looks of it.

    You ever get Safari eating 450M of memory? All too often for me, so I frequently restart it.

  5. I now use Safari as my main browser and camino occasionally where safari isn’t fully supported at the few odd sites. Not noticed safari doing that but it has crashed a few times. Firefox supports skins/themes so you may be able to find one that you like (at https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/browse/type:2)

    The themes I use are: Aluminium Alloy, Azerty III, Blue Ice, Phoenity as well as the default and Saturated (the original Firefox theme). I change them as a when the mood takes me.

    Hope this helps a little. Richard 🙂

Leave a comment